Monday, January 25, 2021
Home Technology Does a Clean Boot Delete Files?

Does a Clean Boot Delete Files?

Does a Clean Boot Delete Files?

Have you had some troubleshooting issues with your operating system and want to do a clean boot? But you fear that clean boot may delete your files. Well, don’t worry we will answer that for you down here. 

What is a Clean Boot? 

A clean boot is a clean start-up of your system where your operating system starts with a minimum number of programs and drivers. This is generally done to help troubleshoot any programs and drivers that may have been causing a problem. A clean boot will allow you to isolate any performance problem and take remedial action against it.  When you do a clean boot it does not delete your personal files like documents and pictures but may stop a few programs from starting normally. We’ll talk more about it in detail down here.

Does a Clean Boot delete files? 

The answer is no. A clean boot does not delete your files. When you do a clean boot, the system starts with a minimum of programs, and hence a few of the programs won’t work properly. But that doesn’t mean your files are affected. However, it is always advised that you should regularly back-up your work and store your files in a separate drive too just for the sake of emergency. A clean boot won’t harm your data but if you were to upgrade or do something significant on your computer like changing the operating system, there may be a lapse in data. So always backup your data and work.

How to do a Clean Boot? 

We here will list down the steps you need to follow to enter into a clean boot mode. Read along.

  • Type MSConfig in the search button of your taskbar and hit Enter.
  • It will open the System Configuration Utility. Then proceed to click on Selective Startup. 
  • Uncheck the box on Load Startup Items and check on the Load System Services and Use Original Boot Configuration.
  • Next up, click on the Services tab and check the box with the option of Hide All Microsoft Services.
  • Click on the Disable all button on the right side of the screen.  
  • Click Apply/ OK and proceed to restart your computer. 
  • Congrats your windows will be in Clean Boot mode now.
  • Once you’re done with the troubleshooting, you can undo the changes and get back to normal Windows mode. 
DeliddedTechhttps://deliddedtech.com
I am Lalitha Part time Blogger from India . This Blog Covers in depth articles on Technology , Finance , Business , Web Design , Iphone and Android .

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

REcent Posts